BNS Medal
The British Numismatic Society

Promoting the study of coins, medals, tokens and banknotes

Medals, Prizes & Funds


Blunt Prize

Blunt Medal ReverseBlunt Medal ObverseThis prize was instituted in 1986 as the 'Council Prize', but its name was changed in 2005 to mark the outstanding contribution to the Society and to British Numismatics made by Christopher Evelyn Blunt (1904-1987).  The Prize takes the form of a triennial cash award to an individual, whether a member of the Society or not, who has made a significant recent contribution to the study of numismatics which falls within the Society's remit. Its purpose is principally to encourage younger scholars, and preference is therefore given to suitable candidates under 35 years of age.

The regulations of the Blunt prize are available here as a PDF file.

Previous recipients

1987   M. A. S. Blackburn
1990   E. M. Besly
1993   B. J. Cook
1996   M. R. Allen

1999   P de Jersey
2002   K. Clancy
2005   S. Bhandare
2008   T. Crafter
2011   R. Naismith