BNS Medal
The British Numismatic Society

Promoting the study of coins, medals, tokens and banknotes

Medals, Prizes & Funds


North Book Prize

North portraitThe North Book Prize, established in 2006 with a generous donation by Jeffrey North, is awarded every two years for the best book on British Numismatics.

Books eligible for consideration for the prize are those published during the current or three preceding calendar years, copies of which have been received by the joint library of the British Numismatic Society and the Royal Numismatic Society for review. Publishers should send books for review to the Librarian, British Numismatic Society, c/o The Warburg Institute, Woburn Square, London WC1H 0AB.

The recipient receives a cash prize, currently of £500.

For further details see North Book Prize Regulations.

Previous Recipients

2006: Dr Martin Allen for The Durham Mint (London, 2003)

2008: Dr Robin Eaglen for The Abbey and Mint of Bury St Edmunds to 1279 (London, 2006)

2010: Lord Stewartby for English Coins 1180-1551 (London, 2009)

2012: Dr David Dykes for Coinage and Currency in Eighteenth-Century Britain: the Provincial Coinage (London, 2011)