BNS Medal
The British Numismatic Society

Promoting the study of coins, medals, tokens and banknotes

Medals, Prizes & Funds


Sanford Saltus Gold Medal

Sanford Saltus ReverseThe John Sanford Saltus Medal is the Society's premier distinction, awarded triennially, on the vote of Members, for the recipient's scholarly contributions to British Numismatics. The medal was established in 1910 with a generous donation by Mr John Sanford Saltus (1854-1922), a past-President of the Society. 

Sanford Saltus ObverseAlthough the award was initially based on publications in the British Numismatic Journal, the regulations were widened in 2005 to take account of an author's entire publications in the field and to make non-members eligible for the award. In exceptional circumstances Council may propose the award of a special medal. For further details see the revised Rules for the John Sanford Saltus Medal .

An appeal in 2005 established a Prize Fund to support this and the Society's other prizes.

Previous Recipients

1910   P W P Carlyon-Britton
1911   Helen Farquhar
1914   W J Andrew
1917   L A Lawrence
1920   Lt Col H W Morrieson
1923   H A Parsons
1926   G R Francis
1929   J S Shirley-Fox
1932   C Winter
1935   R Carlyon-Britton
1938   W C Wells
1941   C A Whitton
1944   Not awarded
1947   R C Lockett
1950   C E Blunt
1953   D F Allen
1956   F Elmore Jones
1959   R H M Dolley
1962   H H King

1965   H Schneider
1968   E J Winstanley
1968   C W Peck (posthumous award)
1971   B H I H Stewart
1974   C S S Lyon
1977   S E Rigold
1980   Marion M Archibald
1983   D M Metcalf
1986   Joan E L Murray
1989   H E Pagan
1992   C E Challis
1995   J J North
1997   P Grierson (special award)
1999   R H Thompson
2002   E M Besly
2005   P Woodhead
2008   M A S Blackburn
2011   M R Allen